To the friends I’ve lost because I talk about racism:

Consider, if only for a moment, the absurdity of you unfollowing, unfriending, blocking, harassing, SILENCING, someone who is dedicated to educating people (and themselves) on the realities of racism and the push for equality.

Now contrast that with the sheer hypocrisy of you telling me that you “still care” about racism as an issue – it’s just annoying for you to see me talking about it all the time.

Let’s be real: you don’t give a shit.

Not about me (your “friend”), not about people who suffer and die because of the way that they look, and certainly not about racism.

My heart hurts for losing someone I considered a real friend. It hurts more knowing you are part of the reason racism is still an issue. And either you don’t know this, or you don’t care.

I get it.

No one wants to hear, see, or think about something so ugly on such a regular basis.

People don’t like how it makes them feel.

If you can’t even stand to see it come up on your Facebook newsfeed, just imagine how people who experience it must feel.

That attempt at empathy might actually make you care enough to help me fight the awfulness that I feel the need to keep talking about.

One thought on “To the friends I’ve lost because I talk about racism:

Leave a Reply

